The Healthiest (and easiest) Ice Cream Ever.

So today, sitting in the summer heat, I really wanted something cold, sweet, and refreshing. I wanted ice cream, but without the bad stuff. Keep dreaming, I know. So I did! I found a recipe the takes 1 ingredient. Just one. How is this possible you ask? I was just as skeptical, but I decided to give it a try. Are you ready for the recipe?

Voila:

4 Bananas

Pretty crazy right? So here is how you make it.

Take your bananas and cut the into 1/4 inch pieces into any dish that you can put in the freezer. DO NOT PUT THE WHOLE BANANA IN THE FREEZER. It will not work right; it must be cut up. My bananas took about 2 hours to freeze, but depending on your freezer, it could take longer or shorter to freeze. Just go with it.

After you take your bananas out, put them in your blender or food processor. Now, my blender is kinda old, so I had to push the bananas down a lot. Also, the recipe that I followed said I should get something that looks like a “banana gravel.” I didn’t get that- it went straight to the whipped banana, which is what you ultimately want. So I didn’t worry about it.

I kept blending it until it was nice and fluffy, just like whipped cream. Then I put it into a Tupperware and into the freezer it went. Thats it!

Now that you’ve mastered the basics, go crazy. Add some coconut milk, cocoa powder, peanut butter, any fruit, caramel, vanilla, anything. Just have fun with it 🙂

Now, I know mine looks a little soft, and it is. We were so excited to try it that we decided to eat it as soft serve. However, a few more hours in the freezer made it nice and hard. I made a plain version, and then i put some cocoa powder and coconut flakes in the next batch. Yum!

This recipe is great for people who are lactose intolerant, diabetics, vegans, vegetarians, or anyone who just wants a healthy alternative to the famous summer treat. My friends wouldn’t believe that it was just bananas and super healthy. They even wanted seconds! Take that Ben & Jerry.

Leave a Reply

