Lemon Herb Chicken

Alright, so I decided it was time to actually put my cooking to the test. The test other than my mom’s. So I invited a bunch of my close friends over to try it out. I decided to make a chicken dish; you can’t really go wrong with chicken right? I found this recipe online, changed it up a bit, and gave it a whirl.
Recipe:
  • 4 chicken breasts
  • Salt
  • Ground black pepper
  • 1 lemon sliced in wedges, 6-8 slices
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 3 cloves minced garlic
  • 1/3 cup dry white wine
  • 1 Tbs grated lemon zest
  •  2 Tbs freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1½ tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tsp minced fresh thyme leaves
1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. You can leave your chicken in full breasts, but I decided to cut mine up for more and smaller portions. Cut your lemon in half and squeeze a bit of the juice in your baking dish. Set your chicken in next. Continue to cut your lemon in thick slices, placing them between your chicken breasts.
2. Add the olive oil to a small sauté pan and heat over medium-low temperature then add the minced garlic and cook for just a minute. Lower the heat add the dry white wine, lemon zest, lemon juice, oregano, and thyme. Pour the warm mixture into the dish to surround the seasoned chicken breasts. Use a brush to spread the olive oil mixture over the chicken.
3. Bake the dish uncovered for 30 to 45 minutes, until the breasts are cooked. Remove from the oven, cover with aluminum foil and allow resting or serve right away.
Turns out, I’m a pretty good cook. All my friends loved it and I couldn’t have been happier. It is pretty simple to make. It’s a really healthy dish, too!
Leave a Reply

