Brown Sugar Iced Coffee

I work in a coffee shop on my school’s campus. I can make you a cappuccino, a latte, a Vietnamese, any type of coffee drink you can imagine. But when I am at home, do not ask for a cup of coffee. I will screw it up so badly you wouldn’t even know its coffee. I know, I know. I work in a coffee shop, yet I can’t make coffee. I agree, there is something wrong with me. Hey, nobody’s perfect right?

I was browsing the internet (as usual) for some interesting recipes and I came across one at Food52 for some “Magical Coffee.” From what I gather, the recipe was in an article that was written in the New York Times. I looked at the recipe and it seemed pretty simple. I thought, “I shouldn’t be able to screw this one up.” So I gave it a whirl.

Let me tell you, baby, I’m back in the saddle. This iced coffee was so good! The flavors just blended together in such a refreshing, caffeinated drink. I wouldn’t really call it magical, but hey, to each his own right?

Recipe (as found and adapted from Food52) :

  • 2/3 cups coarsely ground coffee
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 3 tablespoons dark brown sugar
1. I used a mason jar, but any kind of tall thermos or bottle would work. Mix all ingredients into your container. I just shook mine for a while and it worked fine.
2. Put into refrigerator overnight. This is called cold brewing.
3. In the morning, pour the mixture through a sieve or sift to separate the coffee grinds from the liquid. I put the final coffee base back into my mason jar for easy storage.
4. When ready to enjoy, fill a glass halfway with ice. Pour in the coffee concentrate and milk at a ratio that you will enjoy. More coffee for stronger flavor, or more milk for a lighter flavor.
Leave a Reply

