Green Tea Ice Cream: The Green Tea Memoire

Ever since I was little, my parents always took me to sushi restaurants and it has forever become one of my favorite foods. Green tea ice cream was always that special treat that seemed completely mystical to me. Green, earthy and a flavor unlike any I had ever tasted before. It was like some far away flavors coming to take me away to a mystical culture.

Who knows, maybe that’s why I am so into different cultures and learning their languages, food, and customs. Maybe it’s why I love all types of food and I’ll try everything once before I make my final decision. I think, as I’m writing this, I’m coming to the realization that my parents are the reason why I want to explore new lands to the ends of the world. Thank you, mom and dad.

Back to the magical, green, cold dessert. I think once I started getting into teas, I took it upon myself to learn about this enchanted food that was the best memory. I tried this ice cream from every restaurant that had it, yet none of them were like the one that I had with my mom and my dad next to me. I found recipes for this treat and I made myself a promise that I would make it one day. It really all looked so simple; but I didn’t have an ice cream maker, and all the recipes called for one. I finally had enough of waiting and scoured my house for one. My efforts paid off; I found one!

I found a recipe without eggs, because I wanted to keep it as simple as possible. I hoped that it wouldn’t be a waste, especially because matcha powder can be a bit pricey. I made up the recipe and let the wondrous machine do its work.

Of course, it was like making cookies. You know, when you eat the batter before its even baked. It tasted so yummy, but I knew I had to wait for the frozen fantasy to happen.

You know that line, good things come to those who wait? Well, today, I wholeheartedly agree with this ancient proverb.

I tasted my ice cream, and in an instant, there I was, sitting at the sushi bar, sharing a scoop of the perfectly green and grainy delicacy with my mom and dad. My eyes welled up with tears of joy. I know I know, lame. But it is amazing to me that one simple recipe can bring such joy and happiness to a person. You never know what such a simple thing can mean to a person.

So, as I tell you my story,  I am ever proud of my ice cream, tears, and parents. I hope that you can find such happiness in a memory.

Recipe:

  • 1 1/2 cups heavy cream
  • 3 1/2 cups milk
  • 1 cup  sugar
  • 2  tbsp matcha (green tea) powder
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
1. Whisk the matcha with the milk and sugar, making sure the powder dissolves. Some recipes call for boiling the mixture to insure that the powders dissolve, but I had no problem at all.
2. Stir in the cream and vanilla.
3. Churn according to your ice cream maker’s instructions.
**4. If you don’t have an ice cream maker, you could pour the mixture into a freezer safe container. Every 30 minutes, stir the mixture well and repeat this until you have a fairy-tale dessert.
I hope you enjoy this post and the recipe.
What are some foods that bring you back to your favorite (or not so favorite) memories?
One thought on “Green Tea Ice Cream: The Green Tea Memoire

  1. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading it, you are a great author.

    I will make certain to bookmark your blog and will
    often come back at some point. I want to encourage you to ultimately
    continue your great job, have a nice evening!

Leave a Reply

